Researching: Most common / popular Personal Lights for Fire and Emergency Services /

usdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
I m currently doing some research to find out what the fire, emergency services personnel, and police are using and am curious as to what if any demand there may or may not be for a personal retention system for those lights.
I m aware of the Streamlight Survivor old and new,
Polarion PL3 and CF3
Not sure what others there are...

lightfooted

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've seen many guys using Surefire G2Xs, either the Tactical, LEO or Pro. I also know that years back a large metropolitan dept. near me issued the rechargeable Streamlights with docks in both the squad room and the vehicles. I haven't personally observed any LEOs using a "retention system" of any kind besides their gloves.

LTBL777

Newly Enlightened
Im an EMT part time myself and someone I partner with like the Streamlight PolyTacs in Yellow.
We have a couple of the older 275 lumens and I just bought a 600 lumen version.
The reasons I carry these over my Surefires is the grip they offer and the yellow color lets me see if theres any blood on the light after handling while bandaging a pt. The yellow also makes it less likely to get left behind. The deep-pocket clip ensures it will stay in my pocket as I hop in and out of the ambulance.
I really don't want lot of lumens on scene. It can just blind other responders or family.
Primary i need to light up stairs and walkways, see a form we're writing on or look at a wound.
I usually have Malkoff on the ambulance if I need help finding a house number.

In my opinion lights that an EMT likes will be different from fire and fire will be different from police needs.

I have no need for a retention system other than the stock clip mentioned.
Other EMTS / EMRS I work with all carry different lights if at all.

LedTed

Enlightened