Clones Galore or Am I Delusional ?

Aten_Imago

Banned
This is a 'feeler' post. I just received a Vortex 1W Luxeon 2, CR123 light from CountyComm http://countycomm.com/vortex.htm Now I'm seeing dozens of lights that seem to be clones of what? The Pelican M6 LED ? Are all these lights made in the same factory in Taiwan? Prices are comparable but has anyone tested them against each other to see if they perform comparably? The only obvious variations seem to be the type of clickie switch and the 'styling' of the 'bodywork' . I'm a newbie so any help in this matter would be appreciated.I'd hate to think I'm buying multiple versions of the same light /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

bwcaw

Enlightened
You are delusional. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

No, really I haven't ever had either the PM6 or that light you have so I really can't say. But they do look quite a bit different to me. If anything that light at countycomm looks like a streamlight TL2 led i think.

Aten_Imago

Banned
bwcaw
"If anything that light at countycomm looks like a streamlight TL2".
There you are, another clone?! Notice I said they all look different, but all use 2 CR123's, all are 1WLuxeons, All are made in Taiwan, Several use some kind of tail clickie-switch, some use a head-mounted clickie and as far as I can tell, few have been reviewed against each other! Now comes the Longbow Mini, which again, is made in Asia (though exact contry of manufacture is still a mystery). So, again...I ask the well known reviewers such as Craig at LED Museum, and the FlashlightReview and MrBulk to please help me sort this issue out.I mean it would be great to know how comparables actually compare....right?

Bill.H

Enlightened
I wouldn't call them clones, look at 10-40 years ago when most flashlights were 2D with a PR bulb and a slide switch. It's just the newer style of a "common" flashlight.

And what isn't made in some unknown asian country today? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif