94 Buick Roadmaster Lighting Upgrade Advice?

darksider415

Newly Enlightened
So, I have a new (to me) 94 Roadmaster Estate and the lighting is...dismal, compared to my Volvo 242. Admittedly, it /is/ cheating to compare the Buick to the Volvo, because the Volvo has 7" Cibie E-codes with Philips XtremeVisions and a relay harness, but the point still stands... I have a new car, and the forward lighting is terrible compared to the 40 year old Volvo parked next to it. How do I fix this? A relay harness is a given, because stock GM wiring, but past that...

Also, on a semi-related note, is there an easy-ish way to convert to the T84 spec taillights with the amber turn signals (read: I hate red turn signals... I hate them, hate them, hate them because they aren't unambiguous!!!) instead of the red, or are the brakes and turn signals sharing a feed wire?

I know the T84 headlights used to exist, but a set of those is worth more than I paid for the car.

Suggestions?

-Virgil-

Flashaholic
You're pretty much screwed. Sorry to be so blunt about it, but it's true: the '91-'96 Chevrolet Caprice and similar-year Buick Roadmaster and Oldsmobile Custom Cruiser have awful headlights. The European version wasn't better than the US version, just different and still severely inadequate. GM went from a quality, very high-performance headlight system on the '87-'90 Caprice, to this cheap and nasty junk on the '91-up models...perplexing until you remember this is the kind of thing GM does, routinely.

Of course there are all kinds of toys and games available, marketed as "upgrades" with clear lenses, projectors, LED arrays, etc. All with the durability and performance of a 49-cent "Rolecks" watch bought from some guy named Slide in a back alley. Unless you're prepared to build a custom solution with headlamp modules (Hella 90mm or similar types from other makers) and a fabricated bezel, along the lines of what Morette used to do, you're stuck with what GM offered.