Questions about UV lights

Sarge120867

Newly Enlightened
I work in the pest control industry. I am looking to pick up a good UV light to use for inspections for rodents and bed bugs. I am looking at the Nitecore MT1U at the moment but was wondering if there are better options available?

CobraMan

Newly Enlightened
Check out the EagTac P200LC2 UV - I picked one up recently and it is an excellent light powered by an 18650 cell and with 3 levels of brightness. I am very happy with it and would buy it again for whatever that is worth.

Cheers,
Tim

PhotonWrangler

Flashaholic
The magic term is 365nm wavelength. This is the classic "black light" wavelength. The less expensive 395-405nm near-UV lights put out a lot of visible purple and thus don't fluoresce things as well.

Sarge120867

Newly Enlightened
The magic term is 365nm wavelength. This is the classic "black light" wavelength. The less expensive 395-405nm near-UV lights put out a lot of visible purple and thus don't fluoresce things as well.
I have read this in doing my research.
Thank you.

Sarge120867

Newly Enlightened
Check out the EagTac P200LC2 UV - I picked one up recently and it is an excellent light powered by an 18650 cell and with 3 levels of brightness. I am very happy with it and would buy it again for whatever that is worth.

Cheers,
Tim
This looks like a good option.

lightfooted

Flashlight Enthusiast
My Nitecore P20UV works well and is according to the packaging a 365nm UV light. It also has an XM-L2 for white light. Only downside is that is has a battery spring on only one end, the head side has no spring at all.

syga

Newly Enlightened
I don't know about rodents, but I use a uv light for finding leaks in automotive fluids with dye.

There was another thread here that recommended this light with the 365 Nichia led, I bought it.

https://www.gearbest.com/led-flashlights/pp_277704.html