Early America Lighting, Circa 1565 - 1620 & Beyond

Boneprober

Newly Enlightened
Hi there, my name is Jim aka Boneprober and one day I thought to myself what did our Early settlers do for Lighting once their Hearth died down after their evening meal. Then I also wondered about the chronology of home lighting advances, from say the early 1600's, onward and what they may have been, down through the years.

While I'm sure they had other issues like shelter, heat, cooking, & bedding, I surmise they needed lighting to relax or make the night hours productive after the Sun went down. I imagine they must have brought something with them to the new world, but not sure exactly what.

I graduated from High School in 1960, and I just do not remember "Lighting" ever being a serious topic of conversation back then. Any thoughts or information would be most appreciated. Thanks, Jim

KITROBASKIN

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you like, I could place a link to a Google photo image of a brass whale oil lamp; at least that's what I was told it is. Opening the reservoir shows sludge of some kind as I remember. The Las Golondrinas historical site near Santa Fe New Mexico has live demonstrations of candle making (old school dipping).

Boneprober

Newly Enlightened
If you like, I could place a link to a Google photo image of a brass whale oil lamp; at least that's what I was told it is. Opening the reservoir shows sludge of some kind as I remember. The Las Golondrinas historical site near Santa Fe New Mexico has live demonstrations of candle making (old school dipping).