• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

BOSS Black Durability

stewdogg

Enlightened
I was wondering if anyone has any longer term experience using and possibly abusing a HA Aluminum BOSS? I'm trying to decide if I should buy one of the black Al BOSS's to be released next week or wait for the Ti 35's next fall/winter? I was also considering the Ti 70 in the sale section and then try to get the Oveready guys to sell a 35 body separately, when they're released... really just trying to see if the coated Al would hold up to the abuse I have in store for it and still look decent at the end of the day?

I'm a Fleet Manager/Mechanic and use my lights. I have used a Mac XML ECD TI for the last 6 years. I have dropped that thing in and on everything. I busted out the sapphire lens from dropping it so many times on concrete and it still looks great. It could use a polish to look new, but other than that it looks really good. The thermal properties don't bother me a bit with the Ti, I haven't seen any adverse affects on my Ti Mac over the years, for what its worth.

Thanks for any knowledge on the subject!

Enlightened
I bet the distressed / stonewashed aluminium finish would hide marks the best.

archimedes

Flashaholic
Basically, any "normal" surface finish will show wear, based on the scenario you describe.

Dark colored anodizing, even heavy duty Type III HA, will contrast strongly with silvery bare Al substrate underneath. Although some don't mind the cosmetic look of this type of wear, others do :shrug:

Raw Ti is very durable, of course, but will still show surface marks. A tumbled or stonewashed finish will hide these best, but is (in essence) "pre-scratched" all over.

Bead-blast will mark up very quickly, but can be re-blasted.

Machined or polished will show scratches most readily of all, but is also the easiest to refinish by buffing and polishing.