So I just stumbled across the Minion

Arcoholic

Enlightened
What do you guys think of this light? Good bad indifferent and if you were to blow that kind of cash what configuration would you get.
Let me know folks.

archimedes

Flashaholic
What do you guys think of this light? Good bad indifferent and if you were to blow that kind of cash what configuration would you get.
Let me know folks.

Gets very hot, and a little bit difficult to enter the programming menu as a twisty.

Lots of limitations and tradeoffs involved, for the small size.

Last edited:

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
there is a review here if you have not seen it yet:

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?446725-Review-Lux-RC-Minion-R1

I have no personal minion experience nor have I seen the light discussed before

looks like a cute little lump, could make a good backup battery carrier for your HDS's ;-)

the review mentions it requires an external screen based device, to change the preset modes
I bricked a Boss trying to use my iPhone to do that
not a fan of the UI's programmability requirements

by contrast, your HDS can be reprogrammed without need for an external electronic device
imo the HDS programmability is much more useable on the fly

I put a first priority on having a High CRI LED in any light I use..

I would want to know if there is a High CRI option for the Minion?

Last edited:

Eric242

Flashlight Enthusiast
I mentioned a few points in that review. Also, sometimes really small is too small in my experience. The minion simply is too small for my taste. Also, the highly polished finish looks really nice... untill you touch it and it is covered in finger prints.

Last edited:

Arcoholic

Enlightened
there is a review here if you have not seen it yet:

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?446725-Review-Lux-RC-Minion-R1

I have no personal minion experience nor have I seen the light discussed before