• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Sold/Expired Ultra High Power Near InfraRed Flashlight

670nM

Newly Enlightened
Hello...I know I'm a newbie to the candlepower forums, just hear me out. I was looking into getting some professional NearIR type flashlights. Check out this link for the one already on the market. http://sbir.gsfc.nasa.gov/SBIR/successes/ss/8-066text.html
alright...I emailed the guy and he said it was 499 plus 15 bucks S&H. Way too expensive! I still have a need for one for my joints/muscles/feet. How easy would it be to build an equivalant device? What about making one that is more powerful? They pretty much have the monopoly on the nearIR market and it makes me mad cuz I know they must be jacking the price up like crazy. I looked into getting LEDs and found a bunch of 660nM leds with a large 670nM spillover (about 60% power @ 670). Problem was they are measured in lumens so compairing 660's to 670's is pretty much impossible. I was thinking that using several cheap 660nM lights could create a very powerful 670nM bandwidth for a lot cheaper. I really don't care if I have a bunch of 660nM light in there as long as I get a good 670nM for cheap. One consideration would be heat buildup...since infrared is heat. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Frangible

Enlightened
That looks like mid IR-- it's transferring heat. Near IR behaves more like ordinary light. Mid IR is "thermal". You'd need a *LOT* of near IR LEDs to produce any appreciable heat.

Could just buy a cheapo heat lamp too.

PhotonWrangler

Flashaholic
UH-oh, I think I hear my BS detector going off... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif

To quote from their website -

"The WARP 10 produces more than 80 times more photon energy than a 250W heat lamp"