LED strip lights for stair/step lights, etc.

AirWreck

Newly Enlightened
Brand new noob here to this, but I'm figuring out the wiring for a house we just broke ground on. I am curious about using these along the top of the molding, for nighttime stair step lighting and for night lights/ambiance lighting. I see there is special molding made for this, and channels, but I'm looking for suggestions for something that's tasteful but also economical. Our builder is not doing any customizations for us and I am not replacing the molding. I was thinking just a matching-color white channel/diffuser mounted to the wall, touching the top of the molding. Hoping to blend it in.

I see there are strips that are made for wall washing/scraping, and I guess there are angled channels that can aim the lights downward (in this case). I don't want to see dazzling lights, just a nice glow on the floor/stairs.
I considered removing the molding, placing strips on the bottom of the wall, and reinstalling the molding on top, sandwiching it in there, but unless I do that throughout the room/area, that's going to look bad.

It probably doesn't matter, but I'm planning on a Raspberry Pi-based home automation system. I'm not sure about Arduino or what is controlling the lights, but I plan to make use of LED strips under the kitchen cabinets and addressable strips around the soffits of the house outside (for downlighting and maybe also for permanent Christmas lights,too).

mercrazy

Newly Enlightened
strip lights suck.
no heat dissipation, weak output, plastic cover yellows over time, look cheap because they are cheap.
many better alternatives.

AirWreck

Newly Enlightened
strip lights suck.
no heat dissipation, weak output, plastic cover yellows over time, look cheap because they are cheap.
many better alternatives.