LEDs - basic questions and light table use (replacing fluorescents)

jergs

Newly Enlightened
First post here - I'm an absolute beginner at understanding lighting and have a number of very basic questions for a work project. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

For work, we use light tables for tracing and examining paper layers, and we want to replace the fluorescent tube bulbs they currently use with LEDs once the bulbs go out. None of us have experience with LEDs except for IKEA-style home kits. Currently, we're trying to price out potential costs and installation needs with the information we were able to get before our area went under shelter orders.

There are 2-4 bulbs per table. The only one we've been able to confidently identify online is rated at 2,250 lumens/bulb. They light 24x36" areas and sit from 2 to 5.25 inches below the diffuser panels we work on.

We'd like to keep at least the current brightness, add in a dimming option (with a non-wall-mounted switch), and have even light across the whole area. We've been looking at LED tubes, strips, bulbs, and sheets.

1. Basic calculation questions that have come up:
For finding a similar level of brightness, should the basis of measurement be foot-candles, using (sum of lumens)/(square feet being lit), or should it be the lump sum of lumens?

In our current set-up with tube lights - since one side faces away from us, should that potential light loss be factored into the measurement somehow? Should the distance that the tubes sit below the diffuser panels factor in, either?

Are there any similar factors when we're calculating what we need for the different LED options?