Wish to build a 5w IR led flashlight / illuminator. Noob.

Monkey brew

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone.As I wrote in my introduction, I'm quite new to the world of leds, but have a minor knowledge of electronics. In other words, I can solder stuff and follow directions. I always use calculators, since my brain doesn't always agree with me. Anyway, I'm trying to wrap my head around a project I'm working on at the moment. I'm building a night vision scope and need to have more illumination. I've recently bought a IR led (see specs in pics), and I simply can't figure out how to power that sucker. And not to mention the size of the heatsink. I've look for several days for answers, without much luck. I've tried to figure out what type of driver to use. I've used buck converters for many projects, and someone mentioned that it might be possible to use something in that order. I don't know. I does deliver constant voltage and current, and can be adjusted to any given level of power. The led is to be installed in a relatively small enclosure, but there should be enough room for a 30mm - 50mm heatsink and a 25mm 5v cooling fan. The idea is to power the led with high drain li-ion 18650 batteries. I hope that anyone of You could help to explain the leds power needs, since I've hit a mental wall with explanations of forward current, forward, voltage, power consumption, max current and so forth. I gather that all the information I need, is in the datasheet, but it turns into mush in my brain to apply the numbers to practical use. I've added a link to the led in focus.Thanks in advance. 👍https://www.ebay.com/itm/321106122595

Monkey brew

Newly Enlightened
Was wondering if a simple led flashlight driver board could solve my problems?

DIWdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
Possibly one of the reasons you are confused is that the listing you linked has numbers that just don't add up.