what is an acceptable vehicle LED lighting upgrade?

ZippyDan

Newly Enlightened
I read through the stickies here, but there is a lot of jargon within that leaves me, as a noob, completely unclear on what is acceptable and what is not.

I read a lot that seems to imply "retrofits" are not safe and not allowed to be discussed in this forum, but I'm not even sure what a "retrofit" is and which, if any "retrofits" are acceptable.

As a noob, I see the following, general options available on the market:

1. Drop-in LED bulb replacements for incandescent housings. Are these acceptable for discussion? I see people posting about LED bulbs in this forum.
2. New housings (with reflectors) intended to accept LED bulbs. Are these acceptable for discussion?
3. All-in-one assemblies that incorporate housings, reflectors, and LEDs in one package and are generally not user-serviceable (example: JWPower). Are these acceptable for discussion?

-Virgil-

Flashaholic
Welcome to this area of the forum!

Drop-in LED bulb replacements for incandescent housings. Are these acceptable

No, at this time there is no such thing as an "LED bulb" that is effective, safe, and legal.

New housings (with reflectors) intended to accept LED bulbs

"LED bulbs" are not legitimate (except for standardized replaceable LED light sources, which are an OE-intended product, not one that can be successfully installed in a lamp designed for some other kind of light source), so generally a housing advertised as accepting an "LED bulb" is also fraudulent, unsafe, illegal, etc.

All-in-one assemblies that incorporate housings, reflectors, and LEDs in one package and are generally not user-serviceable (example: JWPower). Are these acceptable for discussion?