led guitar fretboard

Guitarist

Newly Enlightened
Hi, complete noob.

Many people have attempted successfully to light up fretboard markers.

Usually, they use 1 basic LED per fret marker. I need 5.

they typically wire them up in parallel, and wire the negative to each fret, so that when depressed, it lights up.

They also have a toggle switch so that when activated, all frets light up simultaneously.

I dont have a background in electronics.

I can tell you I do have plenty of LED's and resistors and copper wire.

Questions:
1) How do I wire up 11 sets of 5 LED's so that each group will light up independently of another group of 5

2) what rating/type of toggle switch will I need to go from off, on independently, ALL 11 groups of 5 on at once

3) I would like the battery pack to be put on my guitar strap since I play wirelessly, but also be able to plug into a power supply when at home.

Would any of you please help me create a useful to noob diagram and include links of where to buy what part?

Your kindness is very much appreciated.

By the by, Eddie Van Halen passed the other day and I'd like to build a tribute guitar to him.

Thanks so much for any help you can give.

Noob.

DIWdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not a guitar player, so forgive me if I demonstrate my ignorance.

If I understand you correctly, you want to associate a group of 5 LEDs with each of 11 frets, and when any (guitar) string touches that fret, all 5 LEDs all light up. You also want a toggle switch that will cause all 55 LEDs to light.

If that's correct, the circuit is pretty simple. It's 11 copies of the following, from battery positive to battery negative (ground): resistor, 5 leds, one signal or rectifier diode, toggle switch. All the diodes connect to the same terminal on the toggle switch. The other side of the switch is grounded. Each fret is connected to the junction between the last LED and the signal diode of the associated string. The guitar strings are all grounded.

Guitarist