Help wanted with constant current circuitry for automotive lighting!

AlexTheMachinist

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys and gals,
I am starting to make some LED conversion taillights for a couple cars that my friend has. The factory taillights have a 3w driving lamp and a 25w brake lamp, both incandescent tubes. They are extremely dim, and the light housings are rather small (3" round), so it makes seeing a very expensive car rather hard at night.

I would like to have 1-3w of LED for the driving light and maybe up to 10w of LED for the brake light. I am machining new aluminum backplates for the conversions.

I am new to the LED game, and heard that you want to run all high power LED's through a constant current regulator/driver, or else you will damage the LEDs.

I am pretty proficient at soldering, so that wont be an issue. I will be buying LED's and reflowing them onto stars myself, or just finding pre-mounted LED's. I want to avoid the cheap ebay LED's, and will most likely go with something from Cree, as they are easy to get and easy to find stars/MCPCB's for.

I am willing to make my own drivers, or use off the shelf drivers if they fit.

Any help or suggestions is much appreciated!

archimedes

Flashaholic
Hello and welcome ( back ? ) to CPF

Your post above has been approved, but the thread was moved to Automotive, as you are asking about transportation-associated safety equipment.

I imagine that some of our local experts will be by shortly to assist you. Adding important and relevant details, such as specific makes / models / years and such, is of great help in this process.

Cheers !

Alaric Darconville

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

Please reread this sticky, including:
[*]Homemade headlamps, taillamps, stop lamps, turn signals, fog lamps, etc, are not safe, effective, or legal. We will not help you build or troubleshoot them. We will not argue this point.