Turns out I've been recharging these alkalines for a couple years

lumen aeternum

Enlightened
Couple years ago got a set of holiday puck lights at Home Depot. For some reason I presumed the Defiant AAAs that came with them were rechargable. After all, thats what one uses in flashlights, right ?

So I have recharged them very frequently during two holiday seasons & not used them otherwise. Out of 24 I have tossed about half, and will toss another 6 when the are drained since they got REALLY hot on the last charge cycle. Have 5 more that didn't get hot, maybe 3 in a light still... the charger thinks they are NiMh, and it charges actual NiMh to 1.5x volts.

Yes I have bought Eneloops.

WalkIntoTheLight

Flashlight Enthusiast
I used to recharge alkalines, mostly to experiment. Be aware that there is a huge risk of them leaking, within a couple of weeks after you charge them. Don't leave them in your flashlight, unless you like cleaning up leaked batteries.

Katherine Alicia

Enlightened
I used to recharge alkalines, mostly to experiment. Be aware that there is a huge risk of them leaking, within a couple of weeks after you charge them. Don't leave them in your flashlight, unless you like cleaning up leaked batteries.

Me too :)
back in the 80`s there was a circuit in a popular electronics mag that allowed you to recharge regular batts up about 10x before they got a bit flakey, it used something called Periodic Current Reversal. it`s interesting to note also that the batts we use here have "Do not recharge" on them and yet the same batts we send for export don`t say that! and in Japan you can actually buy chargers for regular batteries like it`s the most normal thing in the world to do! LOL