What size inverter for battery charger?

mdmountainman

Newly Enlightened
I have an ebike battery. 48v 17.4ah. I want to be able to charge it in my car from the "cigarette lighter" port. How big of an inverter would I need to charge it with the car running? 200w, 400, or 1000w? Charger is 2.0a 54.6v

Thanks in advance!

rick108

Newly Enlightened
2.0a times 54.6v = 109.2w but, there may be more to it than that. I'm no electrician.

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, a 200w inverter would cover it, but you need to check the current rating of your car sodket. If you draw the whole 200w (which for safety you must take into account) the current draw is nearly 17A, so ideally around a 25A circuit will be needed to avoid oveheating the wiring loom.
P

turbodog

Flashaholic
Most cigarette lighter sockets have a 10 amp fuse. You'd need to replace that (if it's safe to do so).

I can answer this. No, not safe. Disregarding the wire's ability, the lighter socket is simply not good enough to deliver that current for long periods of time. I have a 12v spray rig that pulls a lot of power. Comes really close to melting a standard socket after a while.

turbodog

Flashaholic
I have an ebike battery. 48v 17.4ah. I want to be able to charge it in my car from the "cigarette lighter" port. How big of an inverter would I need to charge it with the car running? 200w, 400, or 1000w? Charger is 2.0a 54.6v

Thanks in advance!

The specs from the charger would be really useful, but simply multiplying the amps and volts yields 109 watts. Divided by 12v lighter socket yields 9.1 amps. Adding 20% for efficiency losses yields 10.9 amps.

That's pushing what you can pull from a lighter for sustained periods of time. I think the fuse it usually 15 amps, but the socket itself will start to heat up.

To answer the inverter question... looks like at least 150 watts. FYI, most car inverters are square wave or modified sine wave. Some chargers do NOT like this and will malfunction.