Weltool W4 question

Mellontikos

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys. I'm not a flashlight newbie, having several Nitecores and Imalents of diffferent models.

But I made a joke bid on a Weltool W4, and well.................I'm now a proud owner of a W4, lol.

Not that I mind, but I have not turned this thing on because I am scared of the fact it's a laser diode powered flashlight. Is it safe to turn this thing on indoors? Like the diffuse reflection from a wall? Is the spot bright enough to cause eye damage using it indoors?

I ended up getting the diffuser and put it on but even like that I have somewhat of a fear. We only have a pair of eyes after all.

Oh and to add insult to injury, I live near an airport, so I have to be careful of shining a laser like beam at the sky, lest a freakin' plane be nearby, and I get my door busted in from SWAT.

I have a trip to the woods planned in about 1 month, where I plan to test this thing at decently far distances. Wondering what other owners think.

Shorttime

Newly Enlightened
Yes, it's safe to turn it on indoors. It won't burn a hole in your wall, or anything like that. There are rigid, and numerous, laws about how much power a laser can put out. Sure, the DIY/homebrew guys are making torches that will light a fire through a piece of plate glass, but we're talking about mass producers like Weltool, here.

Pointing it straight at your face and turning it on will blind you, obviously. Likewise, if you're 14" away from whatever you're shining it at, the glare is going to hurt. But these LEPs are for long-range work, and the "normal" side- or back-scatter is not going to hurt you, even inside.

As for the airport? Yeah, don't point it at a plane, or the runways, or especially the tower! I wouldn't worry too much if you point it in the general direction of the airspace: green lasers are a no-go, but the output from a LEP is some flavor of white. At the other end, it's still just a spotlight.

Mellontikos

Newly Enlightened