• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Peak Eiger Ultra with 3.7v

kerneldrop

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm new to Peak. I just have the Peak Eiger Ultra.
Purchased new and used for first time today.

The light flickers with Soshine 10440 3.7v 350mAh as I progress through the range-of-lumens.
It burns bright and flawlessly when the head is screwed down to full-send.

The light does not flicker with the regular battery supplied with the flashlight, and does not flicker with the AAA eneloop.

Is the flickering with just Li-Ions common with Peak?

Oddly enough, I think I prefer the non li-ion batteries in this light. I wasn't necessarily looking for a full-lumen-send in this light.
That dim to moderate lumen range is really nice in this setup.

It's still a super cool light. I won't be unhappy if the Li-Ions aren't consistent in that light...I'll just use the eneloop and know not to waste $ on various 10440s.

Last edited:

mhs

Newly Enlightened
My new Logan QTC I got around 2 months ago had similar symptoms. It was ok with 1.2 V and 1.5 V cells, but with 3 V and 3.7 V it gave random strobe show almost like there was a loose electrical contact, even with the head tightened. After checking everything piece by piece I found the source of strobing was the new type of QTC donut; it's gray not black, more spongy and airy than solid rubber, easier to compress. Works better with single low voltage cells, but looks like new QTC's internal properties make it extremely unstable with higher voltage. In my case it makes 3 V configurations unusable. Peak's electronics support li-Ion cells, but this particular QTC spoils it. Maybe just bad QTC batch. I replaced QTC with old, black piece and now it's fine with 3.7 V. I hope they will work it out, because beside that it's great flashlight.