What is maximum voltage or current I can use??

BrightLight16

Newly Enlightened
I'm really new to the world of flashlights and their electrical components, characteristics, and requirements!!! So I jus recently obtained 2 Maglite XL-50's from their spectrum series.....A red and a blue LED flashlight. My question is to get the most lumens out of my red light, what is the maximum voltage I can use to power it?? It takes 3 AAA batteries in a battery holder. Could I use to 3.7 volt batteries and a dummy battery n use it without worry?? As I currently use 1- 3.7 volt and 2 dummy batteries which works pretty good jus the battery dies out fast!! I don't wanna try 2 of em n burn my light out cuz then I'll be screwed!!! Appreciate any and all help n answers thank u kindly!!!

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
welcome to the forum

Use AAA batteries, that the manufacturer designed the light for,

do not try to make the light brighter by using LiIon batteries…

if you want longer runtime, use Lower brightness

IF the 3 batteries are in series then:
AAA = 1.5v
3xAAA = 4.5v

10440 = 4.2v
2x10440 = 8.4v (will probably kill your light)

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic