Wanted nice Luxeon III's- will pay premium

davep

Newly Enlightened
Wanted nice Luxeon III\'s- will pay premium

Hello there everyone. I am hoping that someone has 3 nice Luxeon III's for me if I paid enough (even though I'm a newbie and shouldn't really be entitled to them). I realise that there is a lot of fluctuation in Luxeon's and my chances of winning the Luxeon lottery as an insignificant end user are really none. I am interested mostly in W0 colour as they are supposed to be ideal. The model TW0K are apparently consistently excellent. I will pay a premium for handpicked ones of confirmed ideal colour, at least $20 each. If no one has any for this price, than I will offer to pay more and more (until it is plain stupid not to sell them...). I realize that every LED is different even if they are the same spec, and that it is only possible to isolate the whitest and brightest ones by eye in direct comparison if you happen to have many of them. The most important priority is to be as pure white as possible. A flux rating of T is also nice, and Vf is not as important.

I would also be very interested in hand picked ideal (with a more blue/green spectrum than the average) 1 watt warm white Luxeons.

If you are interested in the use of these LED's- the flashlight I will (attempt to) build is:

Three (nice) Luxeon III's (wired in series) with Fraen tri lens narrow on 1/4"-1/2" thick copper heatsink which is mated well to an aluminum case with an aluminum head. Efficient current regulation and smooth continuously variable output control from 3021 Buckpuck 1000mA (often will be toned down to ~700ma for reliablility and efficiency- but still allows 1000ma if desired (with internal and easily accessible external pot - this will be adjustable from the outside of the light) with 8-16 AA Nimh source. Lens will be a UCL/LDF glass 52 or 55mm for nice smooth semi flood with possibly a 2nd polycarbonate lens on the outside for protection.