Help me choose an LED color

tkl

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm trying to decide what color led would be best for my Dad. I'm going to buy a CMG Infinity for him to walk to his deer stand in the dark.

I've heard green is the top choice for Military and blue is the choice for hunters. What are the pro/con of each?

Sub_Umbra

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think that the human eye is optomized for green. AFAK that's why the night vision stuff all has a green tint to it. I've also read that deer can't see the green lights, but I have no personal experience. Green is the one I would pick for your stated purpose.

Sub_Umbra

Flashlight Enthusiast
Surefire claims that red will not spook game. I have watched rats at night with a red light -- they never knew I was there.

Surefire also claims that blue makes a blood trail easier to follow by increasing the contrast of the blood on the foliage.

dasfx

Newly Enlightened
I have CMGs in both colors (ok, all colors) and for walking at night I would say go for the green. But of course, as all things CPF, why not both /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

DasFX

Phaserburn

Flashlight Enthusiast
Green (cyan) = brightest to human eye
red = only color to preserve night vision
blue = helps track game by illuminating blood
amber (yellow) = best detail definition of the non-white colors
white = only choice that allows true color perception

J

JimCreveling

Have you ever tried to spot blood with blue light? If so, what did you use? I gave it a test last year and could find no special color of light would give good results. The police use a UV light with a reactive spray, but that isn't feasible or practical for hunting.

INRETECH

Flashlight Enthusiast
Unless you have a very specific use or application, white is simply the best - as stated before, any other color will
affect your perception of colors

Our adapter sales pretty much break down to:

White - 95%
Red - 4%
All others - 1%