Question about light dispersion from an LED

pigseye

Newly Enlightened
Hi,
I'm new to LED lighting but have an interesting application.

I wanted to put some undercabinet lighting in my gunsafe and bought some halogens but they were dangerously hot since IA also store ammunition in my safe.

Decided to go with LEDs since they could be battery powered and would not be hot.

The problem is the shelves are fairly close together and each LED projects a small spot light on the shelf. I would like to be able to diffuse or disperse the light broader. Any suggestions?

Ultimately, I'll use 8 pairs of LEDs in wired in poarallel powered by 6 D-cells. These lights will only come on when the door is opened via a door switch. So I'm not to worried about efficiency. Using the LED calculator I should get about 150 hours of use with this set up.

Any other ideas or concerns with my concept?

Thanks,
Pigseye

LukeK

Enlightened
Well you have a couple choices here. It sounds like you are using traditional 5 mm LEDs. You probably have the 5mm 20 degree LEDs, which as you noticed, don't produce a very wide beam. If you make your way over to http://www.whiteleds.com you can find wider angle 5mm'ers. In the case that you think 5mm LEDs simply won't cut it, in terms of light output, consider using a 1w Luxeon. Coupled with a converter outputting a low amount of current, the batteries could last for a very long time.

It sounds, however, like you've got multiple shelves, which would make the Luxeon idea much more expensive.

CNC Dan

Enlightened
you could take some steel wool and rough up the surface of the LED.
Super fine sand paper would work too. This will give a frosted effect, and spread the light out.

chamenos

Flashlight Enthusiast
i think dan's solution would be the most cost-effective /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast