Finally Joined the HID Mod Club

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast
Not that this mod hasn't been done before, it's just that I've never done it before and really like the results. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif

maghid3.jpg

I gutted my UK Light Cannon and moved the parts into a dark silver 2D Mag, and retained the original switch. From outward appearances, it's just another plain old Mag. But hit the switch and things get bright pretty fast. Nothing like the initial "that's not so bright" comment when it's first turned on, but after a few seconds of warming up, the "h@ly sh_t!" comments start.

maghid1.jpg

This is powered by eight NiMh AA cells in a severely modified Radio Shack 8AA holder. Run time is over 90 min, so it's not a short lived drain the battery down in few minutes modification either. I tried to measure the output, but it overloads the light meter instantly; at least putting it well over 20,000 Lux at one meter.

So, if you've got a UK and would rather have something that is focusable with much greater throw, this is an easy mod (once the 2D battery tube is bored out in the front section to accept the solarc ballast).

Now I can play the "My Mag is brighter than yours" game....

raggie33

*the raggedier*
cool light.i thought of geting a hid light but ive heard there more fragile then most lights but 20k lux is cool as hect

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast
Actually, I've already butter fingered it twice out in the yard, dropping from about 4ft and that didn't phase it. I did add a rubber gasket to keep the bulb plugged in the socket during such episodes. Hopefully, I won't be doing any more of these drop tests though....

McGizmo

Flashaholic
That's cool Kevin! I have a LC also. Thanks a lot! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

K-T

*Moderator*
Wow, somehow I thought the LC ballast is much larger in diameter and would not fit the Mag, seems that I was wrong. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

lambda