Arc4 Development

Status
Not open for further replies.

HDS_Systems

Enlightened
The young man contacted me in the latter part of 2002 to request my assistance in defending his company from a potential suit from a competitor. Since I have been developing regulated LED flashlights (headlamps) since 1997, I was in the unique position of owning much of the pre-existing artwork needed to invalidate recent LED flashlight patents. Others have artwork dated even earlier. I provided this young man with the needed documentation without reservation. As an aside, the LED Museum reviewed the CMG Infinity (regulated LED light, single AA) in April of 2000, Arc Flashlight LLC was formed in February of 2001 and the LED Museum reviewed the ArcAAA (regulated LED light, single AAA) in April of 2001.

It was clear during early conversations that there was a lack of engineering in the company. The company was represented as a small but high quality manufacturing firm and had a nice setup to perform order fulfillment. As they were having problems getting their new flashlight into production, I agreed to help them for my normal hourly fee - a clear work for hire arrangement. The existing "engineer" was let go 2 weeks later when I had the most serious of the design flaws fixed. Bandages could be applied to resolve the other problems, but a total redesign was needed to fix most of the remaining problems. And as long as you are redesigning the light, adding all the features from the Action Light III would certainly be a crowd pleaser.

At the same time I was thinking that perhaps this organization could do the manufacturing for the Action Light III along with order fulfillment.