The Fenix-Store        
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Installing batteries in Turboflare

  1. #1
    *Flashaholic* Darell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LOCO is more like it.
    Posts
    18,645

    Default Installing batteries in Turboflare

    OK, who wants to make Darell look like an idiot?

    Well, since everybody has their hand up, I'll take the skinny kid there in the back. How the heck do you install batteries in these things!? I managed to get one set in without much problem, and now can't get the rest of my units together. What's the trick? I'm going nuts here! They sure weren't designed for easy battery swaps were they?

    And speaking of batteries, who the heck has the best prices on Li AA's these days?

    Thanks guys. Sure I could have asked this of some friends privately and behind the scenes, but then you all would have lost out on the chance to make me look stupid. I give you this of my own free will.

    Darell the Dork.

  2. #2
    *Flashaholic* Size15's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Kettering, England
    Posts
    18,415

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Darell,

    What's a Turboflare?

    [perhaps I can take some of the laughs off you for a bit?]

    Al

  3. #3
    *Flashaholic* JonSidneyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Greenfield In
    Posts
    3,431

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    I don't know what one is either, link please

  4. #4
    *Flashaholic* Darell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LOCO is more like it.
    Posts
    18,645

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Whew! Thanks for coming to my rescue guys.

    http://www.turboflare360.com/

    Good news, laugh at THEM and just answer my questions. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* 3rd_shift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DFW. TX. U.S.A. Earth
    Posts
    3,337

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    I found a review of one here .

  6. #6
    *Flashaholic* Darell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LOCO is more like it.
    Posts
    18,645

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    3rd_shift (and Craig!) -

    You win! Here I have been unscrewing the entire dome and trying to shove them in that way. Never even thought about taking the switch off. Would have been nice if they'd included a little bit of instruction there! Dang!

    OK, so who's got Li AA's now that I know how to get them IN the thing!

  7. #7
    *Flashaholic* McGizmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Maui
    Posts
    17,261

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Darell,

    Let me share your shame. I too took the dang thing completely apart! I was able to put it back together again though! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] Hummm, take of the switch. Now why didn't I think of that! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

  8. #8
    Flashaholic* LitFuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,787

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Don't feel too bad Darell, I did the same thing. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ohgeez.gif[/img] Hadn't really planned to share with the group though.

    I think I saw someone post that Wallyworld and Sam's Club both had the Li AA's for less than $2 per. I think $2 is what Kevin at Batterystation get for them too.

    Peter

  9. #9
    *Flashaholic* Size15's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Kettering, England
    Posts
    18,415

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    And there I was hoping it wasn't some cool flashlight I'd never heard of! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ohgeez.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]

  10. #10
    *Flashaholic* Darell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LOCO is more like it.
    Posts
    18,645

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Ah, excellent! Thanks for the commiseration you guys! Nice to know I'm not alone. Interestingly enough, I noticed that the switch hatch was a bit loose on all mine, so the first thing I did was tighten those screws, then proceed to remove the five that hold the puck together. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ohgeez.gif[/img]

    OK, time to shop for batteries!

  11. #11
    *Retired* The_LED_Museum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Federal Way WA. USA
    Posts
    19,418

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Hey...I had to ask how to install the batteries when I first got mine. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon15.gif[/img]
    A flashlight reviewer that can't install batteries in a light...who would 'a thunk it? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]

  12. #12
    *Flashaholic* Darell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LOCO is more like it.
    Posts
    18,645

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Ok, you guys are making me feel better and better every minute. Now I'm actually GLAD I posted. Look for more "make Darell look like an idiot" posts in the future!

  13. #13
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,377

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Thanks for making my night. You've got me feeling like a proud Peacock. A lowly end user among the greats of CPF and I had no trouble with it. Or does that just mean that I'm not smart enough to screw it up? (or like my GF says, "screwing up in reverse.")

  14. #14

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    I think I was the one who brought these to the attention of the forum and I did the exact same thing. Maybe why they're on clearance!

    Sam's also has the AA 1.5 V Lithiums I think it was $20 for 16. I believe the e2 akaline have a similar Ahr rating (but not the other advantages) and are a little cheaper.

    edit: Found where I posted it. Don't know why I didn't post about installing the cells. Guess I thought I was only one that would do it wrong!

  15. #15
    Flashaholic*

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,568

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    OK, I took the whole thing apart too, and had the darnedest time trying to get the cover on with the batteries in it and all those little nuts.

    And, to reinforce the correctness of taking the top off, there's a diagram inside, that you can barely see if you take off the switch! On the second one I was thinking, hmm, if you take the switch off, you can't see the diagram for polarity...then I turned the stupid thing over, and voila, there's a diagram on the bottom, too!

    Doh!!

    daloosh

  16. #16
    *Retired* The_LED_Museum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Federal Way WA. USA
    Posts
    19,418

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Here is the correct procedure to change the batteries in your TurboFlare:

    To change the batteries in your TurboFlare 360, take a small phillips screwdriver (#0 should work fine here), and unscrew & remove the two screws holding the pushbutton switch assembly in place. These screws are semi-captive, and will stay in the switch assembly if you're reasonably careful. Remove this assembly and set it aside. Tip the four used AA cells out of the light, and dispose of or recycle them as you see fit.

    With the battery chamber facing you and the light upright, insert two of the four new AA cells in the left hand chamber so the button-end (+) terminal faces up, and insert the other two cells in the right hand chamber so the flat end (-) faces up. There are polarity diagrams embossed in each battery chamber, and on the underside of the TurboFlare's body, if you forget how the batteries go in.

    Place the switch assembly back in place, being sure it goes down and sits partway inside the battery opening. It is keyed to fit in one way only, so if it doesn't fit, turn it 180° and try it again. Insert the two screws and tighten them.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare


    When all else fails... read the instructions. But in all fairness, some of them don't have instructions with them. I almost took mine completely apart until I noticed the screws around the switch.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Oddly enough I didn't have any trouble at all and I didn't read the instructions either [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

    Maybe I'm just not technically minded enough to think of doing it the hard way [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crackup.gif[/img]

  19. #19
    *Retired* The_LED_Museum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Federal Way WA. USA
    Posts
    19,418

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    I had to ask for help, before taking it apart or {vulgar term for having intercourse} something up. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon15.gif[/img]

  20. #20

    Default Re: Installing batteries in Turboflare

    Guess I am just dumber than dirt. I actually used the Switch Access door to put in the bats!....after staring at all of those dome screws intently. Next stop was to Coscto for a 40 Pak of AA's. I'll not be putting $8.00+ in Li's in those $7.00 lights. Instead, the $.25 a piece fresh Kirklands will be the choice and I'll just change them out in 3-4 years if they sit all of that time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •