Spyware Killer

tkl

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have Adaware and Spybot but it's the free version. If I buy the pay version will it detect and delete spyware as it happens or do I still need to do the scans?

Chris M.

Flashlight Enthusiast
Spybot is essentially a manual scanner/removal tool. AdAware Free is the same. The pay-for upgrade I have little experience with, but it would appear to add a level of real-time scanning and protection. S&D does have an Immunise feature which does this already, and is still free.

Best would be to head to http://javacoolsoftware.com and get Spyware Blaster and possibly Spyware Guard too. Those two are active scanners that prevent it getting on your system in the first place, if kept up to date. One of them (SG) deals only with malicious ActiveX controls and stops MSIE hijackings etc, while the other (SB) is more comprehensive and prevents tracking cookies, pr0n diallers etc, and will also work with Mozilla if you have it. If your computer is pretty ancient like mine, with a broadband connection, then you might notice a slight slowdown. Anything made within the last few years shouldn`t be affected mush if at all.

wink.gif

Quickbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes: http://beam.to/spybotsd

Spybot Search and Destroy (don't know if that's the one you were talking about in your post above when you mention "spybot") - free and was able to remove a spyware proggie that was extrememly resistant on a co-worker's computer. I use it as well and it works perfectly. Very high grades from the user community.

tkl

Flashlight Enthusiast
Quickbeam, I have spybot and it works better than Adaware. But it doesn't remove the popup problem I was having.

I'm looking for something that removes it as they try to attatch to my cookies instead of having to run scans manually.

was_jlh

Enlightened
The new version of Spybot ( 1.3 ) is out now, very nice, faster scan, resident protection.

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast