Need advice on what cookware to purchase

Raven

Enlightened
I'd like to buy a new skillet. Is it possible to buy a quality pan that doesn't have a no stick surface, or does that leave cast iron, as my only other option?

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to serious cooking, so any advice or opinions will be appreciated.

Eric_M

Enlightened
Anything by All-Clad is good. Calphalon makes some really nice copper cookware with a stainless interior.

It may seem pricey but there's nothing to wear out like non stick coatings.

Raven

Enlightened
Something like this?

I want to avoid no stick surfaces, because they tend to flake after moderate use. That's my experience anyway.

raggie33

*the raggedier*
im adicted to cast iron i have troble seasing it.but ,man they cook so good

Eric_M

Enlightened
Exactly!

I've got the 8" model and love it. Ebay is the place to get some great deals. Just watch the shipping costs on some auctions.

The Calphalon Copper is the best deal for the $$$$.

Enjoy,

Eric

Spudman

Enlightened
We got some cuisinart commercial stainless cookware as wedding gifts. It has a copper sandwich in the bottom of the pan to conduct heat better. It's seen almost fourteen years of daily use and still looks great. I think any good stainless pan with a copper or aluminum bottom would wear well and look good.

Nitro

Flashlight Enthusiast
Cast Iron will last forever if you keep it seasoned. Actually it's not that hard to season. Just use plenty of oil or cooking spray before and after every use.

Also, don't use soap and water to clean it. Just heat it up, scrape it smooth with a metal spatula (if needed), spray it with cooking oil and wipe it with a paper towel.

They are easy to maintain, and IMHO food tastes much better when cooked in Iron. Specially when you brown meat.

lambo

Newly Enlightened