what`s the best bulletproofvest in 2004 ?

mohr

Newly Enlightened
hi,
i need your help, what is the best bulletproofvest that i can buy in year 2004. i work as a german policeofficer and it scares me that i carry a 250 $ flashlight for my safty but still use my old vest that is over 3kg in weight and is made of twaron/kevlar. the panels that are used in this vest are made in 2000 but are testet with the old technicalguiding from 1994. so whats the best money can buy in the 2004. i found some german dealers that sell the new Z-shield vests but they are over 1500 $.
please let me know what you guys wear at duty.
greetings from oldworld
christian

DavidTHR

Enlightened
I checked with my good friend, who is a LEO here in the USA.

He was recently issued a Safariland Zero-G vest, and so far he really likes it much better than his old vest.

His Safariland vest is certified to the newer .04 NIJ standard.

Stay Safe!

Joe Talmadge

Flashlight Enthusiast
It may be worth checking out the latest on the controversy of spectra and zylon. There have been claims -- and some evidence that the claims are serious enough to be worth investigating -- that the lightweight fibers lose their effectiveness over time when subject to moisture and heat (exactly the conditions the vest is subject to if left in a trunk, etc.). Kevlar is thick and heavy, but does not suffer from these problems.

The first guy I saw level these claims is Kevin McClung from tacticalforums.com. As I said, since he went public, there's been evidence that his claims could be true. You might duck into tacticalforums.com, probably the "MD Labs" or "Ground Zero" forums (or use the search function) to find the latest. I'd research this very carefully before committing to the lighterweight hightech fibers.

Here's one of the more recent threads and here's another

Joe

drchow

Newly Enlightened
The correct name is ballastic vest, body armor or bullet resistant vest/armor. It's not "bulletproof"

ErickThakrar