help me save my new freind he is a bird

raggie33

*the raggedier*
ok i was walking to store i saw a bird he cant fly but he looks like a mature baby bird i picked him up and put him in cage do baby birds eats worms?

Draco_Americanus

Enlightened
I am no expert but I would try giving him insects and/or bird seed. heck find a pet store, they may have lots of stuff for them. or when in doubt call a vet, advice should be alest free.

raggie33

*the raggedier*
so far all he does is frsak out when i go near his new cage. i put him in water bowl cause he seems hot he is a blue bird.

was_jlh

Enlightened
Raggie, call vet and/or find a local wildlife rehab person. He will not want seed. You may be able to cut up worms and give to him. He will want to eat about every 20 minutes. Find a local wildlife rehab person and get advice from them. This is the time of year when snakes are invading bluebird houses, the parents often leave after snake encounters and abandon the young. Oh, did I mention, call a local wildlife rehabber. Good luck, hope for the best.

Draco_Americanus

Enlightened
I would cover atlest half the cage with a blanket if it's not too hot out, that way the bird will have a place to hide and it may calm him down.

BobVA

Enlightened
Well, it depends what kind of bird he is. If you can zip over to your library and pick up a copy of "Care of the Wild Feathered and Furred" that will answer most of your questions.

As a last resort, you can feed most babies a mix of baby cereal and a little hamburger, but they won't eat themselves, you have to know how to feed them. Then you've got to wean them and teach them to find food on their own. You can't just feed 'em and toss 'em out.

If you haven't had the bird for long, take it back where you found it, put it somewhere safe and see if the mother is still hanging around. She'll buzz you or the bird if she is. If so, you lucked out and can split. (The "they'll smell humans and won't take care of them" is a myth.)