Arc4x to a New Level

Status
Not open for further replies.

this_is_nascar

Flashaholic
Here's the new look of my (2) Arc4x lights.

Picture 001.jpg

Picture 002.jpg

Picture 003.jpg

thesurefire

Flashlight Enthusiast
Being that I'm kinda new to arcs, can I get a comparison to how much brighter the Arc 4x is then a normal 4+?

W4DIZ

Enlightened
Wow Ray,those are nice! Your the Man. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif
How do you like the switch guards?Do you find it hard to use the switch?

nekomane

Flashlight Enthusiast
Arcoholic and this_is_nascar,
Thank you for the tips in the previous thread . I can't see the photos you posted though /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif So I'll post some myself.
HDS_prt1.jpg
HDS_prt2.jpg
HDS_prt4.jpg

Without any tinkering, my proto 2*123 has battery rattle, and only 'momentary on' functions. When held bezel down, the light will flicker on without pushing the switch sometimes.

I tried 2 different washers with this_is_nascar's temporary fix. One is 12mm(0.47 inches) in diameter and 0.8mm(0.03 inches) thick. It worked the first time, but after trying again, it did not work. I think the washer got caught off centre during the first attempt, but it fit snugly into the recess of the batteries' negative end the second time making it useless.

Next I tried a split spring washer (is that what you call them?). It's the same size as above but about 2x thicker. The spring is quite stiff. It works, but not as reliably as I wish.
HDS_prt3.jpg

These are the only washers I have on hand right now, but I think a thinner spring washer may do the job.

The washer is a temporary fix anyways, but do you think trimming the length of the battery pack is safe? I thought about shaving some length off too, but after asking advice on another forum, someone pointed out that the balance between the ordinary coil spring and 'gold plate thingy' on both ends is quite tricky, and the problem may be difficult to solve by just doing this.