New to fourm and lights

G

gutsrage740

I am new to the flashlight thing. got a Pila GL4 from a buddy and would like to know what if anything can be done with it, to make it brighter and better. And what other flashlights are better.. ie brighter than a GL4

jayflash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just to let you know that someone noticed you...HELLO, gutsrage740. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink2.gif

I'll have to let an expert answer your question later, but don't be a stranger.

B@rt

Flashaholic
welcome.gif
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
Have fun browsing the forums! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

daloosh

Flashaholic*,
Welcome to CPF guts, and why dontcha stay awhile!

Wow, if the GL4 is your first light, that's an a$$kicker! I am unqualified to say any more, never having seen a GL4, so I will go on.

The GL4 runs on 4x123 or rechargeables, so if you don't have one or the other, that's an upgrade. If you are running it off of lithiums, it makes sense to get the rechargeables, since it will cost you about five bucks to load up. On the other hand, while the rechargeables remove the cost worry, you should hang on to a handful of 123s so in an emergency and the rechargeables are kaput, you can pop in the lithiums and are good to go.

Next, I dunno what kind of tailcap you got, but they come in plain clicky and different LED varieties, like red, green, white. I prefer the white ones, for the best color rendition, but you may have other needs, like red to preserve night vision.

I'm sure you have other flashlights, so I don't need to tell you that most flashlights are less bright than the GL4. Keep in mind that the rechargeables give less lumens than the lithiums, but longer runtime.