Help modding a headlamp

da_guy2

Newly Enlightened
OK i'm a newbie at this and i guess this ist a great project to start with but i want to try to mod this headlamp. Here
Its a great design with the red and white led's but i wanna replace the incandesent bulb with an luxeon 1w.

Now opening this thing up i see all the contents are driven off a single pcb. this pcb connects to the battery compartement by a strance connector that i could probbly bypass, then the led's are driven by resistors and the bulb is just hooked up in series. I guess for startes i'm gonna ask if there there is a small driver i could build that by varing which pin the input voltage came in on i could chage which led is powered and how much current it gets . (i hope that made sense). Here is a diagram of what i'm looking for http://www.geocities.com/da_woods/3LEDDRIVER.JPG. If anyone can give some sugestions that be great.

David

ps anyone know any stores (not online stores) where you can buy luxeon's in the toronto area?

pps i fixed the link /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

andrewwynn

Flashlight Enthusiast
cool lamp!

I would recommend using the SO17XZ reflector... does it use 3 or 4 batts? i had a helova time trying to figure out a 3-cell solution so i went to 4.. hopefully 4.. anyhow there are a lot of nice drivers like the Badboy etc... I was originally looking into using a selector switch that changed the reference voltage to vary the output level.

if you are going to use 3W emitter you'll certainly need some way to pipe the heat out to the outside.

most likely the switch is a 4-position single pole rotating switch... if that's the case... and it supplies power to one of the 3 lights based on position and rotates through... you can just put your LED driver downstream of the main light and leave the small led's operational... the main issue is what voltage does the batt pack supply? 4.5 is tricky, but you could run DD with a resistor or the new LED dynamics magic resistor...