Old time shaving

flownosaj

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just wondering how many of you do the old time badger brush and shaving soap. My father did for a long time, but now uses shaving gell--as I have done for years.

Now, after hearing about all the "old style" premium shaving products that are better than the gells and foams, I'm considering giving it a try.

Any reccomendations?

-Jason

Joel

Newly Enlightened
Jason:

I've been using shaving soap and a Badger brush for close to twenty years now and I like it better than any foam that I've ever tried. The shaving soap that I like the best is from the UK - purchased from "Taylor of Old Bond Street." You can find their shop on the Web now, I used to make a long distance call to place an order. My favorite is the "Gentleman's Shave Cream" from the Eaton Collage Collection. It's a bit pricey at 6.50 (UK pounds) but a container will last quite a while. I'll usually purchase about four at a time to make the transaction worthwhile. Every so often I'll try a new high-tech foam that comes out on the market but in the end I always go back to shaving soap and a brush.
Joel

bald1

Enlightened
I've used a brush and shaving soap since I started shaving over 4 decades ago.

Perhaps the best brush I've owned (and still use) I bought from Germany here:
Shavemac

There are a lot of shaving soaps out there to choose from but unquestionably real badger is THE way to go in brushes.

--Bob

flownosaj

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm going to have to ask for a late B-day present. Shavemac has some nice sets. The art of shaving is one of the sites I had looked at the other day, but WAY overpriced. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/broke.gif

Thanks guys /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink2.gif

js

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yeah,

A real badger brush is a very nice thing. That and some good shaving soap turn shaving into an art form. A meditative experience. And it has a nice feel to it.