Arc AAA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve2255

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm new to Candlepower forums. I'm looking to get the ARC AAA flashlight. How do you know when you buy one if you're getting the Premium edition?

paulr

Flashaholic
The Premium edition costs extra and you have to order it specifically. If you're buying a used AAA and want to know how to identify a premium edition, there have been a bunch of variations but they are marked "PE", "LE", "limited edition", etc.

That said, the difference between the premium and regular editions is often overrated. There's only so much you can get out of those 5mm Nichia leds and the regular edition already gets most of it. The premium edition reaches into the area of diminishing returns. If you want a brighter light with better tint than the standard edition, you're better off going to a Luxeon light (or one of the Luxeon mods for the Arc AAA) than trying to find the elusive super-primo Nichia.

paulr

Flashaholic
The runtime depends on the battery type and the LED current. I think most Luxeon mods run at around 150 mA which should give maybe 1.5 hours of runtime on a battery and should work ok on an alkaline. You can run them brighter than that, but then you need to use rechargeable batteries (higher current capability than alkaline) and you have to worry about the light overheating if you leave it on for too long. I think if I were building a mod or getting one built for everyday use, I'd keep it at 100-150 mA rather than trying to go crazy for brightness. A stock AAA or premium runs at 60-70 mA with a new battery, and a Luxeon should be a little more efficient, so a Luxeon at 150 mA is probably 3x as bright as a stock AAA in addition to having whiter color.