LED Colored Head Options for the L1 & L2

Flashdark

Enlightened
Bear with me fellas. I'm new to the CPF. I recently heard from Dan at Tactical Warehouse that Surefire has plans to offer colored LED head options for the L1 & L2. Does anyone have any info on this or a time table? I'm trying to come up with a viable option for night navigation. The F05 Red filter on the L4 is just barely adequate and will eat you alive on batteries if you are out all night. It also filters out so much light that it is working at cross-purposes. I think that I might need an UN-filtered red LED for lumen output with good side spill, but have not yet had the chance to get my hands on the L1-HA-RD. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif

Size15's

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!

SureFire have already offered L1's in white (WH), red (RD), blue (BL) and green (GN).

If you look around there may be an L1-HA-RD somebody is willing to part with here (try the B/S/T) or a Dealer may have one left.

As for the L2 being in colours... We'll have to see what the future holds.

Depending on what sort of night navigation you are doing, there are different red light LED flashlights to choose from.
You may get more replies if you start a new thread asking for red LED flashlights.

Al

Flashdark

Enlightened
Thanks for the reply. I already have an L1-HA-RD on order but am standing in line with everybody else. My hope is that if you can get rid of that lumen robbing F05 filter and go to a pure unfiltered red LED head, you might get enough lumens out there to do the job. I also heard that the first batch of L1 heads were poor bin quality and wondered if they changed anything with the upcoming new run. Some people seemed to knock the beam quality and others said that it was good. Oh well - THIS is why research can be expensive.

Size15's

Flashaholic
Are you still referring to L1 whites because there have been many batches of L1 whites.
As to coloured L1 LEDs - I have no experience.

Al

Flashdark

Enlightened