A question from a new member

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Hello fellow members,

Greetings from Brittany, France.
I'm a volunteer firefighter/EMT-B in a rural area.
I'm seriously interested in flashlights for years; from what I've read in this forum I still own almost no *real* flashlights
smile.gif
but I'm going to improve that very soon...

I'd like to get a personal flashlight for
my firefighter/EMT activities.
There are so many products that I
don't know what to choose. Maybe some
kind soul from this forum could help me to narrow the choice
set.

My requirements are as follows.
a. The flashlight must be no more than 5 inches long.
b. It must be splash proof
c. The flashlight will be used mainly for EMS activities (eg checking for injuries, lighting arms for IV shots), and thus
a clean beam is needed (no rings or dark spots).
d. The flashlight will be used as a backup light for searching and firefighting activities.
e. Ideally the flashlight body should be yellow or orange so that I can find it when I drop it in the grass
smile.gif

f. The flashlight won't be used more than 3 or 4 hours a week (ie not everyday)

Thanks!

Noel

Byron Walter

Enlightened
Hi Noel,

You might try the www.surefire.com site and look at their 2 lithium battery lights. The E2 manages about 75 minutes at 60 lumems. The amount of light from these things is amazing. And while they are very expensive, I've not seen a comment from anyone expressing disappointment in their purchase. Unfortunately they don't come in the colors you mention.

Anybody else have a suggestion?

Byron

Chris M.

Flashlight Enthusiast
I`ve heard that SureFire`s Nitrolon bodied lights (G series?) come in bright yellow as well as black. The 2 cell version would be very small and very bright, and it`s quite a bit cheaper than metal bodied SFs. Not sure about water resistance, someone else would have to jump in here.