Mini-Mag Kypton Bulbs?

junior

Enlightened
Hello, I am a newbie here and I have been lurking for quite some time. You guys are awesome and really nice too....I frequent a lot of other forums and you guys have to be some of the nicest.

Anyhow, I want to upgrade my Mini-Mag with cheapest mods possible. Was thinking with starting out with Radio Shack Kypton Bulbs and putting a Kroll tailcap switch. That seems to be the cheapest way so far. What do you guys or gals have to say?

Also, how much brighter are the krypton bulbs compared to the reg.mini-mag bulbs?

Thank's

I own a handfull of mini-mags full size mags, surefire g2 and and inova pocket light.

ABTOMAT

Flashlight Enthusiast
Stock Mini-Mag bulbs are krypton, as far as I know. The Radio Shack ones aren't any brighter and are slightly misshapen. You can get a Brinkmann bulb that's quite a bit brighter than the stock one. Of course, an LED upgrade is even better.

paulr

Flashaholic
The cheapest upgrade is the 2aa Brinkmann bulb. That increases brightness and lowers runtime.

I wouldn't bother with the Kroll switch. In fact I'd advise against it. If you want a pushbutton flashlight, buy a pushbutton light. The Mag twist bezel works fine though. Having the Kroll and the twist on the same light gets confusing, and the Kroll is also rather unreliable.

The LED upgrades are very nice, but expensive. In my view there are enough LED lights now that the Mag upgrades aren't really cost effective any more. If you want an LED light these days, there's lots of excellent ones to choose from and you'll get a light designed for LED's and without the compromises of being built around a Mag.

junior

Enlightened
I get it and believe me being on this fourm has already gotten me to visit the flashlight isles a lot more. However, I really like the mini-mag and it has gotten me out of some situations before. So, I want to upgrade at least one of them.

How much is runtime with Brinkman Nextstar in a mini-mag?