• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Sold/Expired VIP hotspot brightness

Rudi

Enlightened
I received my BH today, and what a beauty!
I did comparative measurements of the brightness at the center of the hotspot (indicative of throw?), and compared with several ARC models. I used a Minolta Flashmeter III, accurate to 1/10 of an f-stop, that has been reliable for three decades. The numbers represent relative brightness at the center of the hotspot.

VIP+BH on high..100
VIP+BH on med....70
VIP on high......35
VIP on med.......25
ARC4+/2 on high..55
ARC4+/2 on #3....40
LSHP-F...........25
LSHP.............18
LSLP.............18

Rudi

Enlightened
Sorry if I've posted to the wrong forum. I'm new to all this. Any advice is appreciated.

I plan to add to the above data as soon as I receive My FF2 and Blackbid.

idleprocess

Flashaholic
I also drew a "huh" when looking at that.

I thought that the ARC had a 1W emitter. I know that the VIP features a 3W emitter and drives it close to spec on high.

Unless the Arc throws a pencil-thin beam of light and can throw all its photons at the sensor, I don't see how it can score higher.

Rudi

Enlightened
You guys are talking total light output. My measurements are in the center of the hotspot.
Yes, my 4+r2 is about 1/2 f-stop brighter (50% brighter) than the stock VIP, in the center of the hotspot. . The 4+r2 hotspot is small, and dims rather abruptly into the side-spill. It's a bit harsh, but that's good for throw.