Another "Newbie with a few Stoopid questions"

Abbey_Lad

Newly Enlightened
Another \"Newbie with a few Stoopid questions\"

Another "Newbie with a few Stoopid questions"

I'm very new to the world of Flashlights/Torches and wish to explore it further, hence joining this forum to discover more.

My current EDC:
Photon III (white LED)
Maglite 2AA
ARC-AAA

First of all I'll have to say I love my Arc, it's by far my best purchase. It also throws into sharp relief how "Not so Top" the other two are.

The Mag 2AA, was my old favourite and I'll keep it no matter. I'd love to either mod it with the new Opalec Led conversion but it's the old model so no go.

The last the Photon III is my biggest disappointment, initial I was impressed ( loved the dim mode and SOS feature). What I was less impressed with was the ease at which it turned on in my pocket. A few accidental activations and I've now got a Dead Photon. I'm also not motivated to change the batteries.

Question 1 for the Forum.
As I said I like my Mag and would like to know from this learned forum what options I have to improve it.
The main use of the Torch is back-up, relatively long throw, tough (been in brief case on site and elsewhere and still going strong)and quite bright with good batteries.

I'm open to alternative suggestions. I was thinking along the lines of a Surefire Nitrolon or similar.

Question 2
I would like to equip my lites with rechargable batteries. What would be the best suggestions for AAA and AA.

The Photon will either be binned or replaced by a Photon Freedom, however I'm tempted to replace it completly with a CMG Infinity Ultra so that I've only two battery type requirements.

I welcome any and all comments positive and negative.

"I need to explore my options".

B@rt

Flashaholic
Re: Another \"Newbie with a few Stoopid questions\"

Hi Abbey_Lad,
welcome.gif
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif