Is the Surefire 9AN Commander a good torch?

S

SaltheRozzer

Dear all,

I'm looking at buying a Surefire 9AN Commander and I would appreciate the opinion of the experts on whether its the best option for police work. I like the idea of the choice between two strengths of light and the fact that it's rechargeble. One problem though, I work in Britain and the mains electricity is 240 whilst the chargers are 110.

Your thoughts please

ps my colleagues think I'm mad to spend £200 on a torch!

Frenchyled

Flashaholic*
The 9AN is a perfect Flashlight for police, better than some streamlight in my opinion.
Some german user can speak about better than me /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif (Mohr ?)
No worry about the AC/DC adapter, surefire make 220V/240V adapter too /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

You are not mad, or all flashaholic here are mad /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crackup.gif

mohr

Newly Enlightened
hi,
i work as a german police officer in a town near frankfurt.
the 9an is a great light but i dont use it anymore as dutylight. my normal dutylight is a surefire L4 with pila battery and for the nightshift a magcharger MC60 (magcharger with WA01160 bulb and UCL lens and 4ah batterystick) + L4.
i think the 9an is too big for everyday carry on the dutybelt. the 9an does not have a clicky tailcap like the L4 and the 9an is too much power for closeup work (on high) and not enough power for longrange work. i dont like the beam on low. i use my two 9an`s as general houselights and for walking the dogs at night. its a great light if you buy or build an extra 3.3ah batterystick for it. the runtime with these sticks is over 1 hour on high. if you need more information or pictures of the 9an or other surefire or streamlights just send me a pm. there is another cpf member from germany, he is a leo too and a surefirefreak ( /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/poke2.gifhoko71).
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif greetings from germany christian

ho71ko