leather belt gear verses nylon?

dougmccoy

Enlightened
Having once been in the military....too many years ago for me to care to remember! I have always admired the form and functionality of nylon webbing. Of course when I first enlisted the webbing used in the British forces was cotton based and called 58 pattern webbing. This stuff was extremly durable and flame resistant (that was it's good points) unfortunately it was heavy, absorbed copious amounts of water,wasn't mildew resistant and rotted in hot humid conditions. When nylon gear began to take over many of these problems diappeared but despite being an improvement it still looks bad after a short while in use.
Nowadays I'm a paramedic and wear nylon gear for work. Many of my colleagues still use leather but I dont because I dont believe that you can clean it as effectively as nylon in the event it becomes contaminated by bodily fluids. I also dont like leather due to the way it wears. (I did use leather gear for years but found that unless you waxed and oiled it regularly it soon became discoloured and grubby looking) Nylon seems to be the answer to my needs but still looks rough after being used for a few months although far less than leather.

I'd love to hear other folks opinions who have used both leather and nylon gear in real world use and to hear your views on what works best for you and why?

Doug /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Unicorn

Flashlight Enthusiast
Leather generally looks better, but doesn't wear as nicely unless you take a lot of care with it. Redying it when it's worn, and it has to be high quality. Nylon will fray after a while though. Neither I don't think can be disinfected to OSHA standards. There are some of the synthetic imitation leather, Bianchis new Acumold Elite for instance, that are as light as nylon, look like leather, and wear better than both. It can also be disinfected easier than both.