Arc AAA regular or premium?

DoubtingBeliever

Newly Enlightened
After much deliberation between the Peak Solutions and the Arc AAA lights, I have settled on the Arc. Only one question left to answer -- Do I need to spend the extra $10.00 for the premium version. This light is for EDC and my needs are pretty simple. I just need something to get me around in dark places when I don't have a bigger light with me. I don't do technical work in enclosed spaces or anything like that (I'm an accountant for cryin out loud). I'm currently carrying a Dorcy AAA and the light quality seems to be sufficient for my needs. Its not a bad light. I just want something with a smaller profile and almost everyone on this forum seems to rave about the Arc. I'm guessing the standard model will be fine, but would like to hear from those who have experience in these matters. So do I spend the extra $10 or not?

bindibadgi

Flashlight Enthusiast
From the little I know, the prem is no brighter, it's just whiter. I have a standard, and I love it to bits. It gets used every single day. It is a bit blue in the middle of the beam, but I don't care at all.

I don't think you'd be disappointed with the std.

Fitz

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd go with the std. also. I have 2 standards and a premium, and the standards are actually a bit brighter than the premium,. The premium is a little whiter/browner than the standards, which tend to run on the blue side.

cy

Flashaholic
The standard or Premium question is a state of mind. Functionally they both are premium. The first and still the best AAA led flashlight.

The tint is the only difference. Is it worth an extra $10? Arc AAA is among the cheapest light a flasholic will buy. you will forget the $10, long before you forget it's not a premium.

Since I'm a premium kind of guy, I always got to have the premium version. Your mileage may veri..

mpetty

Newly Enlightened