LED designer & new to board

• Thread starter **DONOTDELETE**
  • Start date
D

**DONOTDELETE**

Hi all,

Great board you all have here ... just found this recently.

I work in the LED industry and so I enjoy the ideas/comments you all put up here. I think you'd all enjoy my job if you had the chance to work where I do. I wish I could say where I work and what I do (as well as what new projects are in the pipeline!), but for my own security and my company's integrity I cannot.

BTW, the 5W luxeon you guys are discussing is out there as prototypes. I've seen it and there will be quite a bit of design work going on using this device soon - very soon.

The new phosphor laydown method on the white Luxeons is also very good - much better than the old method. The test results are good that I've seen.

I've also read the discussion about the 5W device and how some of you don't like it for flashlight or other battery powered devices. Although I understand your viewpoint, you need to realize LED makers and OEMs are heading toward the general illumination market. A device that makes 100+ lumens lets you get close to the lower wattage incandescents when in multiples of 4, 6 or 8. The money is NOT in specialty markets like flashlights. The LPW (lumens per watt) efficiency will increase, but the main drivers for now are total lumens and LP$ (lumens per dollar). Flashlights will get the benefits of the technology changes, but won't be driving them.

Not that I don't like flashlights - I did design one of the LED light engines for a flashlight you have discussed here on the board. The overall revenue just isn't in these markets for big investment and returns.

I hope you don't think I'm a troll or anything, but I did want to thank you all for this board and the discussions. I'll be taking notes and sitting in the background and maybe get some additional ideas thinking about what you all are talking about.

Take care,

7LWS

Klaus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wellcome 7LWS,