Probably quite lame, but hey, it's my first time!

PeteBroccolo

Enlightened
Probably quite lame, but hey, it\'s my first time!

The subject line pretty much says it all.

I took my 3 C Mag, removed the C cells, cut 2 chunks of cheap garden hose about 5.75" long, cut a full-length split on both, wrapped one chunk around 2 dead (at least as far as use in my Spyder) Battery Stations 123A cells, found a carriage bolt about the remaining length of the original C cells, slipped 4 nylon spacers (about the same diameter as the 123A cells) onto the bolt, spun on a nut to hold the spacers in place, wrapped the other chunk of hose over split of the first chunk, cleaned and lubed the butt cap threads, threaded the butt cap back on, put in a new Eveready PR4, pushed the switch and IT WORKED!

The 3 C Mag was a gift from D/Comm Broccolo & the 5 subordinates a few Christmases ago. It had been relegated to being a 2nd back up to my Spyder, which backs up the government-owned Polystinger, or for use with the red snap-on cone (or my 3 D Koehler Brite-Star and its cone, dependent on which ones' batteries die first) for traffic directing along with my Dorcy 2 D powered 9" LED wand.

The hose chunks, spacers, bolt and nut ain't pretty, but it will help me drain down to nothing my "dead" 123A cells. I also bought 2 Dorcy KPR112 bulbs to use with my fresh 123A cells.

I have apparently passed hesitantly into the light! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif

sidespill

Enlightened
Re: Probably quite lame, but hey, it\'s my first time!