could someone suggest a drop in for mini mag?

voodoogreg

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would like to try a LED drop in "pill" or "module" for one of my Mini mag's. hoghead suggested the bad boy series, any others similar? and maybe a little cheaper? most important is one i don't have to do any major work or soldering, cause i ain't that good at that. I am pretty new to all this. VDG

B

Birmingham47

You can find a RAM instrument 3 led drop in on the net. Simple, no soldering. About $8-$10.

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
The Opalec NewBeam is another option. These are $20.95 plus shipping from PocketLights. This isn't as bright as a BadBoy or a MadMax sandwich, but it is a regulated light with about 10 hours of constant brightness and then a red LED light comes on letting you know that your batteries are depleted.

E2E4ME

Newly Enlightened
It all comes down to your intended use. If you want the brightest drop-in, sacrificing run time, get a Bad Boy or Mad Max sandwich. If you want a light for camping, power outages, etc with a longer run time the Opalec and Terralux are excellent options.

The Opalec wins the longest lasting race with about 10 hours, but the Terralux is much brighter and you get a little over 6 hours of use from it. I haven't seen the Inretech option, but I imagine it is similar to the Opalec and Terralux, with maybe a little more brightness.

_mike_

Flashlight Enthusiast
Could try one of Kevin's SMD+ drop in ($25.00) units over at Lambda Lights

E-mail him for availability, his webpage may not be updated.

Then the $64,000.00 question is ...... of the ones people have suggested, which one to get? Good luck researching that. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Mike

FlashlightOCD

Enlightened
All the Sammy's sold over in Waynes Sandwich Shop are very easy to install. He normally has a good selection, although I haven't checked recently.

SJACKAL

Enlightened