true facts about ethanol?

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
naturally i've heard that it's got higher octane, is cleaner to burn, and good for the ecomonmy (especially being in iowa...), but today i spoke with someone who said it was worse for the gas milage, caused problems, and is crap in general.

i know very little about anything, but i'd be interested in hearing the plusses and minuses.

i'm guessing alot of enviromentalists will pipe up in here saying that it's better for the enviroment, and that should be reason enough to use it, but i'm interested in hearing some info about the actual benifits/drawbacks to my car when using it as opposed to the regular stuff, or even the premium stuff.

vtunderground

Enlightened
I'm not an expert on fuel ethanol, but I do know that it can't be run in all cars. Most manufactures make one or two models designed to burn ethanol, but most carbureted cars can use it after minor carburetor adjustments. Here's a (pro-ethanol) website with a good amount of useful information: http://www.e85fuel.com/

Maybe your friend tried running ethanol in a car that wasn't designed for it?

M

MeridianTactical

If I remember right it eats anything rubber, so that was an issue for retrofits.. plus it has a very low flash point, not a good thing...

Doug S

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have often wondered if it makes good ecological/non-renewable resource conservation sense. I would like to see a good objective analysis of the consumption of fossil fuel to produce ethanol relative to the amount of fossil fuel displaced by the ethanol produced. Farming is a fairly fossil fuel intensive activity.

LukeK

Enlightened
I did some research on alternate fuel vehicles a while back so I can tell you this:

Ethanol DOES burn cleaner and it DOES benefit gas mileage. Also, from what I've read, virtually any car today can run off of a 90% gas/10% ethanol mixture.

ResQTech

Flashlight Enthusiast