Do you wear a brain bucket?

Which of these two features do you prefer?

• Yes!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Sometimes, if I feel like it.

• I do, but knowingly wear mine inproperly.

• No way, I want to look cool.

• Total voters

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would like to find out what percentage of CPF members wear helmets (or as my dad calls them, brain buckets) while riding a bicycle.

I wear mine, because I want to, and because it's the law here (for minors).

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I forgot to mention, all you people that vote no, feel free to voice why. I would like to hear your rationale for your choice.

NeonLights

Flashlight Enthusiast
I didn't vote because I don't like the "no" choice. Very presumptuous of you to label it like that. I've been riding bike for 25-30 years, but not as much lately. I've never owned or worn a bicycle helmet. I never intend to. I can see value in them for young riders who are likely to have a spill here and there, and I'll probably have my two young children wear them when they are old enough to ride, but I'll only require them to wear helmets until they learn good bike control (maybe 10-12 years old). After that it will be up to them.

Exactly what kind of injuries are bicycle helmets supposed to prevent? The ones I've seen offer little coverage, and what will they do to prevent injury if the rider is struck by a car at 60 mph? I'm all for wearing a helmet when riding a motorcycle in traffic (I've had several friends and family members that have had motorcycle accidents), but a motorcycle helmet offers much greater coverage and protection than a bicycle helmet.

-Keith

raggie33

*the raggedier*
no i dont were one but odly enough i do where a bra when i ride

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast
I used to be a very serious cyclist and I have ridden enough to know that any time you get on a bike you are risking a cracked skull no matter how skilled and careful you are. I wear one religiously.