Inova X03 vs Surefire L4/L5

Toecutter

Newly Enlightened
Anyone compare the new Inova lights and their Surefire counterparts?

X03 claims 82 Lumens, is this for real?

jbroker83

Enlightened
I'm not an expert on Lumens, and I don't have a light meter. But my eyes don't lie, and they tell me that the XO3 has a much tighter and brighter hotspot. The beam is much more focused and delivers nice throw. My L4 puts out a nice flood/type output of light, but the XO-3 will def. out-throw it. As for lumens...I'm not sure, but it's brighter than the L4 cause of the tight beam.

elgarak

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sorry, but your eyes CAN lie. My SL Jr Luxeon looks brighter to me than my Inova XO, but my lux-meter says the XO is brighter in the center.

Now, which beam is nicer, that's up to you. The brightness is not.

jbroker83

Enlightened
The beam may not be nicer. Like someone else has written, it's really a matter of a person being a "throw" guy vs. a "spill" guy. I prefer both depending on what situation I'm in. I'll use my l4 for flood and the XO3 for throw. Either way, I'm very happy that I have both.

pjandyho

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't own an Inova XO but I have seen my friend's XO. I will base my judgement from what I have seen.

Another friend of mine has a Surefire L4 and I an L5 equivalent (M2 + KL5 head) which I will just refer to as L5 for short. The Inova is bright for what it is, no doubt about that. Because of the optic built on the front, the XO projected the beam further. The L4 is more of a flood light and provides very good side-spill. I would be hard pressed to choose which is better. Like what jbroker83 said, it depends on whether you are a "throw" guy or a "spill" guy.