Proper Wiring for 2 LED's?

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Proper Wiring for 2 LED\'s?

I am new to electronics and LED's. I am going to make a LED flashlight. I have 6 volts, 2 3.6 volt LED's, and 2 150 ohm resistors.

Is this the proper way to wire it: Go to www.tnni.net/~slruss/schematic2.jpg to see the schematic I drew.

Thanks,
Sperry

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Proper Wiring for 2 LED\'s?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by slruss:
I am new to electronics and LED's. I am going to make a LED flashlight. I have 6 volts, 2 3.6 volt LED's, and 2 150 ohm resistors.

Is this the proper way to wire it: Go to www.tnni.net/~slruss/schematic2.jpg to see the schematic I drew.

Thanks,
Sperry
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, you will have no problem with that. Although a lower resistor value would make it a little brighter. But what you have will run real cool.

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast

I recently answered a similar question for someone else. Go here, and see my post down at the bottom. If you want maximum brightness, this is the way to do it.

Also, for your schematic, you only need one resistor in series with the 2 LEDs hooked up in parallel, but what you have will work fine as well.

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Thank you for your replies. I will try that with the potentiometer too. I still don't totally understand the differences between putting them in series or parallel. One place said that if you wired 2 resistors (150 ohm) in parallel you would get 75 ohms. But I guess that is without the LED's connected to them? Or 2 LED's in series with one 150 ohm resistor?

Thanks Again,
Sperry

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by slruss: