Anyone in the stock market?

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think the smartest investment in the stock market is a diversified mutual fund. Preferably an index fund and preferably one with a very low expense ratio and no sales load (Vanguard has funds that meet these criteria). And then put your money in for the long term (5-10 years minimum) and don't get discouraged and sell when the market inevitably takes a dive.

Of course this is not as exciting as investing in individual stocks, but that is the point.

M

MeridianTactical

Run, dont walk away!!! I was a seasond trader and lost more this year then alot of people make...

Serioulsy it's tough, The Market punishes stocks harshly for any issue these days. But the good news is short of a major event its a good time to scale into stocks...

My advice set a 5-10% stop after you buy anything....

PaulW

Flashlight Enthusiast
Nikon,

I don't believe there are completely safe stocks. Where there is the chance for profit, there is a corresponding risk.

I think Lurker is right. Buying individual stocks is very risky because it is a competitive game played by the brightest people there are, using information that very few have access to.

I believe someone can learn to play the game and play it profitably, but it requires years of hard work to get there. I'm still working on it and doing only moderately well. It's a tough game. Perhaps you're brighter than I and could learn faster.

Let me offer a reference. I've read more than a hundred books on the subject, but the single author I've found most helpful is a fellow by the name of Van K. Tharp, who has done a lot of work with both seasoned traders and people learning to be traders. He's written a few books that you may be interested in checking out. You can get an overview of his philosophy by going to iitm.com. He emphasizes knowing your risk and in putting together a program specifically suited to your individual ways of doing things.